22RTE-Trucks
January 16, 2019, 04:12:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Hi all - Welcome back for the second time this month!

I apologize for the inconvenience of the site being offline. The site was down for technical reasons, but it didn't help that I was of offline for two weeks (camping and travel). Once I got back, it took a while to get things sorted out. That's resolved, and the site is now back up. Huzzah!

Please take a minute and read the Site News thread I've posted in the General section, and feel free to comment. Thanks!

mosk
Admin

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9
  Print  
Author Topic: Stock 22rte runs bad  (Read 21982 times)
psychohamster
Two cylinders

View Profile
« on: August 14, 2015, 03:30:10 AM »

1st post newbie here, but I've had a my 22rte for 15+ years.

OK, I've got a 1986 RN 56, 5 speed 2wd. It is bone stock w/ 155,000 original miles. I replaced the turbo with a rebuilt stock ct20, reworked the head and new exhaust at 110,000 miles. I've done zero upgrades but lately it's not running right or even good, ok it runs like crap and I need some idea where to start trouble shooting it. The problems are as listed below:

-It is a very hard start 9-10 seconds of cranking most of the time-stumbles until I give it 1/8" of throttle then smooths out at 800 RPM
-once it is warm it is a sluggish pig. No power - backfires when pushed 
- when it is still warming up - it pulls decent -
- sometimes the brakes go to the floor - not often (vacuum issue?)
- turbo light comes on at 1500 - 2000 rpm always
- my son (he's probably around here somewhere - got the same truck) he says I have an exhaust leak - I can't tell, to many late cold nights of riding my Harley and lost most of my hearing